Gov. Abbott requests more counties added to disaster declaration

On Sunday, Governor Greg Abbott requested that 12 additional Texas counties be added to the Presidential Disaster Declaration granted last week due to Hurricane Harvey.

The request was made to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to add 12 Texas counties to the original declaration, which was approved quickly last week.

Areas under the declaration become eligible for individual and public assistance, hazard mitigation and other services from the federal government. It also enables tax breaks for those living in affected areas.

"Our partners at the federal level have stood ready to answer the call for help from Texas, and I am thankful for their assitance as we continue to assess the situation in expanded areas across our state," said Governor Abbott. "Many parts of Eastern Texas, especially in and around Houston, are experiencing historic flooding causing the need to grow for additional resources that will allow us to answer the call for help from our fellow Texans. I thank those at FEMA for their attention to the severity of the situation in Texas and the people of this great state for coming together in this time of need."

The Presidential Disaster Declaration previously included Bee, Goliad, Kleberg, Nueces, San Patricio, and Refugio counties. In addition to this request, the Governor has already issued a state disaster declaration for 50 Texas counties in response to the storm.

Counties added to the Presidential Disaster Declaration include:

  • Aransas
  • Brazoria
  • Calhoun
  • Chambers
  • Ft. Bend
  • Galveston
  • Harris
  • Jackson
  • Liberty
  • Matagorda
  • Victoria
  • Wharton 

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content